Fighting the good fight

December 15, 2008 at 1:20 pm 5 comments

I need to snap out of my routines. They get in the way of life. I’ve been better with slowly breaking them, but they are still there, in full force. For example, in the morning I HAVE to have my coffee before my oatmeal. Two cups, on their own, before any food enters my stomach. Totally weird right? I think it’s an old ed-habit to push my meals just a LITTLE later so I can eat less throughout the day. Not good. I also have weird habits with stupid things like cooking my oatmeal, I start the timer on the microwave (no time in the morning, work morning, to do stovetop) for 3 minutes, even though it only takes 1 minute and 45 seconds, I do it anyways! When I was young I was diagnosed with OCD, it was pretty bad back then, but I got it under control with cognitive behavioral therapy and it’s pretty much out of my life (except for a couple quirky things it seems) – proof that therapy does work!! So yeah, perhaps that is more OCD than eating disorder related.
ED is in full force right now, and I’m fighting him with all I’ve got. He is trying to think of the lowest calorie things I can eat today, to avoid hunger, while with my client. Who CARES if my snacks are low calorie?? I need something to sustain myself! If it happens to be 300 calories versus 100 who gives a crap! That’s called normal eating.
So today’s plan….well I’m sitting here at my desk with my coffee, going to make my oatmeal in a few minutes, then off to work, where my meals will be random for the rest of the day! And that is ok. Dinner tonight is chili (mmm) if I get home in time to make it. I will for sure take a photo of that and post it this evening!! Have a great day ladies! 🙂

P.s – one thing I MUST say. I love Canada, I really do, but MAN we are missing out on some great products. All you americans get Fage, Oikos, Barney Butter, Chobani, pumpkin butter, all of this amazing stuff that we have NO access too! The only greek yogurt in existance here has 350 calories and 22 grams of fat per cup. Jealous!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Not according to plan….but making it work! Fa Fa Fa Feeeeeeelingsssss

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn  |  December 15, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    good luck with not planning today!! i know you can do it – just stay strong and listen to your body!! also good luck with the client =)

    stay strong!

  • 2. Laura  |  December 15, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    That’s a crazy cup of greek yogurt!
    I went on Chobani’s website yesterday and discovered that they sell a 10% fat greek yogurt. I didn’t know that was possible!!

    Have a strong day today! When ED hits hard it’s really tough, but I KNOW you can make it through. Show him who’s boss!!

  • 3. lauren  |  December 15, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    yeah the ed can make us do crazy routine stuff and alot of ppl suffereing with eds have ocd sorta beahviors too, i know i did and still do at times to a certain extent.
    keep fighting today and challenge ed as much as u can, it wont be easy but each small step adds up to big positive changes 🙂

  • 4. Kiki  |  December 15, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Mmm yes, nothing beats full fat greek yogurt! Establish yourself in the blogging community and maybe they’ll send you a package! I have a lot of “rules” for myself too. I have to drink a bottle of water before I eat breakfast, and I can’t start making my egg until 9:34 on weekends.. Good luck eating today, I know you’ll be able to push through ED.

  • 5. Kiki  |  December 15, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    And P.S. Yep, I’m 14. But my parents don’t force me to eat. My mom brought me to an outpatient place that follows the Maudsley method, so I was supposed to get all my control over food taken away. I somehow found a way around that, but I’ve been feeding myself every since and haven’t gone back to restricting. I still have problems with other people making my food, so I’ll have to work on that.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
     
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


