Too much or Too little?

December 14, 2008 at 2:11 am 6 comments

pc1324352One of the things I really struggle with is trying to determine whether I’ve had too much, or too little, to eat each day. In terms of recovery, and “normal eating”, not ED-eating. I should probably point out that I eat a normal amount of calories each day (well, maybe? I have no idea really!!!) and do not “restrict” in the traditional sense, but just have rigid control over the TYPES of foods I eat. Most days I say I eat around 2000-2200 calories, although I like to aim for 1800 calories. Some days I eat 2500, and well, those are the days that I can’t help but run 5 miles the next day, whether I want too or not, and whether I have prior committments that day or not….sigh….

Heres what I ate today, I just can’t determine if it’s too much or too little!! I began to struggle with some serious ED thoughts after the muffin….but managed to keep the rest of the day relatively healthy, or so I think…

Run: 3 miles

Breakfast: 2/3 cup (dry) oatmeal with 1.5 tbsp almond butter, cinnamon, 1 cup of milk

Lunch: ww tortilla (200 calories), 3 ounces tofu (200 cals?), 2 tbsp hummus (80 cals)

Snack: starbucks apple bran muffin (while at the mall) (310 calories)

Dinner: 2 small glasses of white wine with my love, 5 ounce chicken breast stuffed with mushrooms and parmesean cheese, 5 mini red potatoes, 1 cup roasted green beans

Dessert: 1/2 chocolate dipped biscotti

I have no idea if that is eating normally or not. My therapist is AMAZING, but isnt much help in the nutrition department. I’d like to avoid seeing a nutritionist as I know I’ll just turn her advice into really rigid ED habits. Any tips?

Other than that. Today was a great day, my fiancee and I bought a new car (!!!!!!!!!!!!) and I got a ton of christmas shopping done! Tomorrow I plan to go for a run and do MORE christmas shopping! I’m going to set up an email account for all of you, where if you happen to be interested in what I do for a living, where I live, all those details, you can email me πŸ™‚

As soon as I figure out how to add photos, I will start showing you guys some pics of my daily oats, and other eats! Have a great night everyone! πŸ™‚

Wait….I think I posted a picture of dinner cooking in the oven, but I’m not sure if it worked. I’ll find out once I post this I guess!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Question on “manners” What is it about mornings….

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anna  |  December 14, 2008 at 3:56 am

    I feel the same i don’t know what is normal!
    I think normal people just eat what they want and stop eating when they’re satisfied.Sounds so easy right but obviously is not 😦
    Yes i can see your dinner in the oven yummy greens πŸ™‚

  • 2. Laura  |  December 14, 2008 at 4:28 am

    I think your day looks great! Don’t worry about eating “too much”. If you ARE eating more than your body needs then you will more than likely be too full. Try to trust your body that days that you eat more are compensated by the days that you eat less!

    Another thing- try not to count calories! I know it’s NEAR impossible, or so it seems, but trying to get all of your food groups in is a much healthier way to make sure you aren’t getting too much or too little.

    And don’t beat yourself up over a muffin! I just ate two piece of chocolate tonight, and ED is telling me that I shouldn’t have but you know what? IT WAS AMAZING! And I bet that muffin was amazing as well! So enjoy eating, you needed that fuel especially shopping during the Christmas season!

    Have a great night!

  • 3. Jenn  |  December 14, 2008 at 5:03 am

    It sounds like you had a delicious, nourishing, healthy day to me!! I think its great that you want to eat normally – that’s my ultimate goal too.. but i think a big part of “eating normally” is to eat in response to your bodies hunger… if your body was hungry for that muffin (which i’m sure was delicious, i ❀ starbucks muffins!!) then you did your body a favor my feeding it the muffin..and your body will thank you by being healthy, strong, and energized!

    It sounds like you have a great handle on healthy foods that will keep your body satisfied.. keep up the good work =)!

  • 4. Kersten  |  December 14, 2008 at 5:41 am

    Your picture turned out well, and your eats look good. Sounds like you’ve already made a lot of progress, and that you’re eating a healthful diet each day. Oatmeal is always a great way to start the day…don’t let ed fool you into thinking it was his idea b/c it may be lower-cal πŸ˜‰ I just bought almond butter today! I’ll totally be adding that to my oats in the morning.

  • 5. jenngirl  |  December 14, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    I think your day sounds wonderful to me. Especially the wine πŸ˜‰

    I just want to say that I too was afraid of incorporating a nutritionist in my treatment, but I honestly don’t know how I would have done it without her. If you had one that knew your situation, I really think they would be helpful, and it would definitely calm those ED thoughts about eating too much/too little. Definitely something to consider.

    Other than that, you’re doing great!

  • 6. gettingbacktosarahsize  |  December 15, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    My nutritionist has been a total life saver. Quite literally I suppose. The information you get from them is 100% focused on being healthy whereas the information you get from reading anything online anywehre may or may not be. I know it’s easy to restrict and count and all of that but if you have proper guidance then you really should be much better off.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
     
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


